In FY17, Franklin OIT will continue to offer an IT Professional of the Year Award. This award recognizes an IT professional for his or her excellent performance and outstanding contributions to the College. The recipient will be recognized at a Franklin College reception in late spring where he or she will receive an award of $1,000 and a certificate of recognition.

Step-by-step guide


Nominees must be full-time staff members in Franklin OIT or a unit within Franklin College of Arts and Sciences and in a classified position in the IT job family; please see the UGA pay plan for information about the IT job family. They must have a minimum of two (2) years of continuous service in the College at the time of nomination. Previous IT Professional of the Year Award recipients are ineligible for three (3) years.


The award will be based on exemplary performance including the following criteria:

  1. Performs consistently at a high standard
  2. Leads by example, demonstrating initiative and innovation in the workplace
  3. Promotes positive morale
  4. Maintains a strong commitment and loyalty to the College
  5. Serves as an exemplar and mentor for colleagues


You can nominate an IT Professional for this award by filling out the online nomination form.  Nominations are due by Friday, April 13, 2018.

Nominees should be certain to fill out the complete nomination form.  Supporting documentation can be submitted in lieu of answering the questionnaire.  Submissions that do not complete the questionnaire or submit supporting documentation will be disqualified.

Selection Process

We use a peer review committee to identify the recipient of the award that is chaired by the previous recipient of the IT Professional of the Year Award.

Previous IT Professional of the Year Award Recipients

2017Richard Hare
2016Stuart Piazza
2015Michael Hill
2014Heath Tucker

Sean Hendricks

2012Tiffany Linhardt

Related articles

External Resources