Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Blackboard Collaborate is UGA's current online collaborative learning solution. Collaborate sessions can be setup and accessed inside and outside eLC by UGA users enrolled in courses, UGA users not enrolled in courses, and non-UGA users depending on the settings and permissions.  Users may participate in live Collaborate sessions via computer, mobile device, or phone.  Blackboard Collaborate also includes an archive feature that allows both audio and video recordings to be created for reviewing 15-30 minutes after a live session has ended.

Application Sharing is a tool that allows moderators to share applications -- or entire desktops -- with participants in a Blackboard Collaborate session. Moderators can provide Application Sharing control anyone in the session for a truly interactive and collaborative experience.  This tutorial provides the steps for launching the Application Sharing tool, selecting the desktop or application you wish to share, an overview of available tools within an Application Sharing session, and information on providing participants access to share their screen and request desktop control.

Step-by-step guide

Step 1: Select Application Sharing

Select the Application Sharing Image of Application Sharing Button button 

Step 2: Select Desktop or Application to Share

In the pop-up window, select Share desktop or the desired application to share. The appropriate application screen will appear with a yellow box outlining the screen. Anything performed during application sharing will also appear in the online room.

Image of Sharing Selections

Step 3: Application Sharing Tool

Application sharing tools include the ability to StopPause, or take a Screenshot.  

For Windows users, the tools are located in the yellow screen outline.  For Mac users, the tools are located under Tools > Application Sharing.

Image of Stop, Pause and Screen Shot Buttons    Image of Start Sharing Button

  • The Stop feature closes the Application Sharing session. To restart a session, select the Start Sharing button.
  • The Pause feature halts screen sharing for non-moderator participants. To resume sharing, select the Pause button again.
  • The Screenshot feature inputs a picture of the current screen onto the whiteboard.

Step 4: Permissions for Participants

Individual participants must be granted permission to share applications and desktops. To grant permission to participants, open the individual's Participant Options menu and select Application Sharing.

Image of Individual Participants Permissions

Participants with permission to share applications will see a Start Sharing Image of Start Sharing Buttonbutton under their Collaboration toolbar.

Step 5 : Cursor Control

Users with Application Sharing permission have the ability to request desktop control during an Application Sharing session.  This allows approved moderators or participants to control the keyboard and mouse of the person sharing their desktop or application.  To request desktop control when another participant is using Application Sharing, click the Request Cursor Control button.

Image of Request Cursor Control Button

Step 6: Approval or Denial of Desktop Control

Once requested, the participant using Application Sharing will have the option to approve or deny a request for desktop control.  To approve access, click the Yes button.  To deny access, click the No button.

Image of Remote Control Requested Button

Step 7: Notification of Desktop Control

Once approved, the participant using Application Sharing will be notified they have granted remote desktop control another user. Click the OK button to continue.

Image of Give Control Button

Step 8: Deny Remote Desktop Control

To deny remote desktop control access at any time, click the CTRL+Space keys or right click on the participant's name and select Take Away Control of Shared Applications.